My Basic Roadmap as an Indie Maker

Build your first passive income today

I love UI/UX design, I love front-end, and I love back-end. Sometimes, I want to have more than just writing code. I want to build a product that many designers or developers can use.

1) Focus on building an MVP

Forget your perfectionism, when building your first product you should focus on its core. What is this product about? who is this for? and what features should we build first in the beginning?

Instead of designing the website from scratch, I prefer using a website design builder like Elements by BuildWith Angga where I can choose more than a thousand website design combinations for my product.

Also, I often use pre-built templates for my ui/ux product from Shayna Kit to save a huge time and money in building an MVP.

2) Launch earlier, fail faster, fail often

Do not hold your product too long, after we have completed our core product, we just need to launch it and get the feedback ASAP from the users. Because we don't want to waste a lot of time researching, designing, and developing, without having any deadline to launch.

Just launch it and see what happens next.

3) Decide your pricing model

You just launched your first product, you get a lot of early customers, and your product is still free to use. Now time to build a pricing model to generate revenue for your business. Remember, it takes money to build the product so make sure your business is generating profit too.

I often take a look at competitors' website to see how they decided the price of each features that they are selling. After I got a lot of references, I tweak the price based on my users' countries' GDP, I don't want to charge them too much.

It's time to build your first product

You can check a lot of new products in ProductHunt to give you inspiration about products that you will build later on. Good luck and keep it up.